5 Reasons I Wish I had Learned Programming

Why couldn't I be this cool

Why couldn’t I be this cool, sorry, AWESOME

1. All the cool kids are doing it: Everyone who’s anyone is programming these days.  Every time I meet a new fellow student, 7 times out of 10 they’re in some sort of computer related field that I need to ask them to repeat.  It’s just in to be a programmer now.  Not naming any fingers or pointing any names, but I’m not looking forward reliving the day I found out a 20 year old kid shouldn’t be wearing elastic jeans.

You're not alone, Mr. Fluff

You’re not alone, Mr. Fluff

2. At least I can pretend to be smart: Seeing as how there’s an absolute abundance of programmers in this day and age, it seems most conversations I find myself in somehow end up connecting back to computers.  We could be talking about something completely irrelevant, like British wristwatches and somehow we magically start talking about programming, and I end up looking the fool. It would be nice to be involved in a conversation where I have more input than nod, smile, laugh, excuse self to bathroom, hide until people leave.

Roll Diego, Roll, ROLL!

Roll Diego, Roll, ROLL!

3. If all else fails, I can still roll with the punches: If all my big plans and aspirations fall flat, at least there would be programming to fall back on to.  Even though there is a massive surplus of programmers, there is no shortage of jobs simply because new fields pop up every day, new projects, new startups, that require programmers.  So instead of being a starving artist, I can be a meagerly fed programmer.

"Dear Leia, if Vader found out how I feel..."

“Dear Leia, if Vader found out how I feel…”

4. Keep secrets from parents: In its lowest form of use, programming can be used to conceal certain unspoken things from the older generations.  It is, after all, a whole ‘nother language: the language of the present and the language of the future.  So no more footsie with your girlfriend or boyfriend under the dinner table.  Just jive your java lingo baby.

Leave a Reply

